About Banner Image



News & Events

News & Event

Special Bulletin - AAACF Virtual Annual Community Meeting News

As another month begins, AAACF will maintain the weekly electronic updates we began in April (which we also post to our website). We’ll continue to share pandemic response news and information, along with updates from activities that occur annually around this time.

One such occurrence is our Annual Community Meeting (ACM), which would have been today, May 4th. ACM has two purposes: (1) to bring hundreds of community members together and (2) to share news and information on Washtenaw County.

We know it will be some time before hundreds of people can gather. We are exploring the potential for a virtual convening in the coming months and will share details as they emerge.

In the spirit of our second ACM goal, we are sharing news on our Board of Trustees and information on our 2019 financials.

Board of Trustee Transitions

Last Thursday was the final Board meeting for graduating Trustees Michelle Crumm, Marie Deveney, Jeff Hauptman and Elena Garcia-Schroeder, our Youth Council Trustee who is also graduating from Skyline High School. Their contributions to the community through AAACF have been extensive and immeasurable. Michelle served as a Board Chair, Marie as Board Secretary, Jeff chaired two committees, and Elena helped oversee a county-wide expansion of Youth Council membership. We thank them all for moving AAACF, and our community, forward.

We’re excited to welcome four new Trustees: Audrey Price DiMarzo, Christina Kim, and Sri Maddipati have each been named to a first, three-year term through April 2023, and Eliza Shearing will serve as the 2020-21 Youth Council Trustee. We will share profiles of these accomplished community leaders in the coming weeks.

We are also pleased to welcome Karen Andrews as our newest Board Officer, joining three current Board Officers who will each serve another year:

  • Chair: Doug Weber
  • Vice Chair: Betsy Petoskey
  • Treasurer: Mike Staebler
  • Secretary: Karen Andrews

Annual Report for 2019

We recognize that this report is being released during an incredibly challenging time and that many people and organizations in Washtenaw County are facing dire economic hardships. AAACF has been sharing news of granting more than $1 million in response to the pandemic (our dedicated COVID-19 page continuously updates grantee listings, with forthcoming updates on up to an additional $500,000 in nonprofit loans) to provide a source of hope to all in our community. In this same spirit of hope—and in the comfort many of us now find in familiar traditions and activities, we share our 2019 Annual Report.

The Annual Report is intended as a snapshot of our work, which includes our financial position through the 2019 year (our 990 tax forms and the independent audit report of our financial statements are also posted on our website). Again, in the spirit of encouragement and affirmation of our strength and commitment to serve Washtenaw County during this crisis and beyond, we report that AAACF ended the 2019 year at the strongest point in our history: $147,478,204 in assets. This position of strength has enabled us to lean into the pandemic crisis despite the tumultuous conditions since the first of the year.

AAACF’s growth is an amazing testament to the investment of thousands of local residents since AAACF’s founding in 1963 and their faith in giving locally. We remain confident that we are positioned to support the community for the long term.

With dedicated community leadership on our Board of Trustees and engagement of community members in every aspect of our work, the Foundation continues to carefully steward the resources that community members have entrusted to us. At the heart of AAACF is a fundamental commitment to Washtenaw County, and we promise to be here now and forever for residents of our community.

Comments are closed.

Share this page

301 North Main St., Ste. 300   Ann Arbor, MI 48104   (734) 663-0401   Email us   Enews Signup

Give Online   Donor View Login  Trustee & Committee Login