Community Scholarship Program

AAACF's Community Scholarship program supports students from low-income families; students of color; and first-generation college students.

The Community Scholarship Program was carefully designed based on research and a close local partnership with Washtenaw Futures, the local college access network hosted by the Washtenaw Intermediate School District. Eastern Michigan University and Washtenaw Community College are also important partners in our efforts. Local data from Washtenaw Futures confirmed national findings that three groups stand to benefit the most from higher education degrees, yet often lack the resources to achieve them: students from low-income families; students of color; and first-generation college students.

 "I feel like my coach is someone cheering me on and being a supporter no matter what. Because I don’t have many people in my life that have gone to college and been through those experiences, I would lean on them a lot to know what’s going on and know what the information I’m being given actually means."

-CSP 2020 Scholar

AAACF’s Community Scholarship Program provides multi-year scholarships for students from these three populations because research shows that the later years of college are the hardest to find support. Because our goal is not to distribute scholarships but to graduate students, the Community Scholarship Program also provides a “success coach” for the recipients to encourage their successful navigation through their educational journeys. The success coach provides students with guidance and encouragement, helping students to take full advantage of the resources available to them through their respective schools. They also create a sense of community among CSP recipients, organizing events for the students to get to know each other.

2016 Scholars

  • Andrew Besford
  • Diana Bernal-Canseco
  • Nyla Dew
  • Savannah Ellington
  • Aazhane Hearon
  • Chelsea Hollins
  • Ray’Jon Williams-Jackson
  • Keitra Osler
  • Jeffrey Williams
  • Chris Vazquez
  • Salamah Wadi

2017 Scholars

  • Aliou Bathily
  • Brooke Besford
  • Kevin Becerra
  • Soroush Chabavi
  • Destiny Esters
  • Beatriz Esquivel
  • Mohamed Fofana
  • Tracy Markray
  • Monica Mitchenor
  • Kearria Nichols
  • Delante Ridley
  • Fatoumata Soumaoro
  • Deja Ulmer

2018 Scholars

  • Alexus Chambers
  • Bushra Habbas-Nimer
  • Kayla Hurd
  • Kristina Lewis
  • Jasmine Meads
  • Oliver Pardi
  • Tahjai Rougeau
  • Zachary West
  • KeShon Williams

2019 Scholars

  • Dana Almahaweelee
  • Saira Alvarez Gomez
  • Nia Buchanan
  • Macka Conde
  • Pablo Garcia Acuna
  • Zayn Hussain
  • Kelise Johnson
  • Assane Ka
  • Dery'l Lucas
  • Andrew McKenzie
  • Iyana Morgan
  • Emily Olds
  • Davion Pipkins
  • Sadre'a Rougeau
  • Tamara Terraza
  • Jamie Villalobos
  • Emerson Wilson

2020 Scholars

  • Paulina Bernal Canseco
  • Megan Clark
  • Tamariah Davis
  • Frieda Fagbedji
  • Jenae Gonzalez
  • Jahi Hawkins
  • Aidon Jenson
  • D'Marcus Jones
  • Ghina Nimer
  • Chinweoke Nweze
  • Jawann Odumodu
  • Nya Pernell

Share this page

301 North Main St., Ste. 300   Ann Arbor, MI 48104   (734) 663-0401   Email us   Enews Signup

Give Online   Donor View Login  Trustee & Committee Login